Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Posted On:
    9/07/2007 1:29pm

Bullshido Newbie
     Style: aiki jujutsu

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

kaze arashi ryu

Hello, i've recently come across some discussions on the net regarding the legitimacy of Kaze Arashi Ryu. Having been training for some time, I am coming to find the hierarchies baffling and discouraging, and have been further discouraged by certain accounts on the internet. The e-budo discussions on this matter seem to have been closed down, so if anyone has information debunking the legitimacy of KAR i would be glad to have a look at it. At the end of the day, as a beginner, I would rather invest my time in learning some form of Aiki-jujutsu or jujutsu with a more stable foundation and heirarchy, as well as knowing that my techniques are based on a solid platform.

Cheers.

Registered Member

Posted On:
    9/07/2007 1:59pm

Style: Judo, Tomiki Aikido, ??

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Are these the folks you're looking for more information on?

http://www.kazearashiryu.org/

Posted On:
    9/07/2007 2:11pm

Bullshido Newbie

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Yep. I remember reading some stuff Mark Raugas was discussing on the net a while back, but it went over my head a little. Now he refers to KAR as a modern mix of Kempo, Aikido and Judo, and practices ba gua and koryu bujitsu.

Registered Member

Posted On:
    9/07/2007 2:13pm

Style: Judo, Tomiki Aikido, ??

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    You can still find his posts on E-Budo. You'll need to be a memeber of their site, but once you are simply run a search for "kaze arashi" and you'll turn up a ton of material.

Edited to Add: I did some digging on Mark Raugas and it appears that he no longer consider's himself to be a practitioner of "kaze arashi ryu" nor that the art by that name has a claim to koryu status. You can find his personal webpage at

http://www.innerdharma.org/
    Last edited by Fitz; 9/07/2007 2:20pm at .

Posted On:
    9/07/2007 2:45pm