Registered Member

Posted On:
    9/07/2007 1:23am

Bullshido Newbie
     Style: Wu/Yang, Yu Wang

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Looking for good Tai Chi Chuan school/club near St Paul

Hey, newbie here. I used to train in Tai Chi Chuan in NYC, and some other stuff that I didn't get really great at. I'm hoping to find a good group/school/club/backyard that does form, push-hands, and fighting. I know this last bit is sadly rare in today's TCC environment.

If it matters, I studied the Cheng form and push-hands under Frank Detrich (from Herman Kauz, from Cheng Man Ching, etc.) but I know I'd be starting all over. I have a smattering of other experience, for which I would point to my profile if I could figure out how to get there myself.

Thanks for any suggestions.

EDIT: And if nobody knows anywhere specifc, any suggestions on how to find a good school/teacher?
    Last edited by muranternet; 9/07/2007 1:58am at .

Registered Member

Posted On:
    9/07/2007 7:16am

Style: Kyokushin

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    If you look in the Minneapolis/St. Paul phonebook, there's a listing for a Wu Lung tai ji school. They teach Wu style taijiquan, and have some close affiliation with the heads of the style, if I remember correctly. I visited their school once (GF's family lives near Minneapolis, so I'm looking for good schools whenever we visit there), and was glad to see that they had gloves, heavybags, etc., which at least points in the right direction. That said, I only played with them for an hour, so I can't say much about how they are overall.

If you DO find a good taiji teacher out there, please give me a heads up, since I"m in that area every few months and would love somewhere to drop by for an evening or two.

International Man of Pancakes

Posted On:
    9/07/2007 3:18pm

Style: Wu style tcc+bjj

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!