--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Noob needing help

At the start of the week I decided I wanted to study martial arts. I am a full time college student with a lot of spare time on my hands. I'm sure this question has been ask dozens of times but I can't seem to find any old post on here about it. I am wainting to study Karate.... I think.... I would really like to study an art that was mostly hand striking with some feet, and if the fight went to the ground I would also have ground fighting skills. So I guess my question is what martial art and which style in that art would be the best for me to get stand up fighting with mostly hands but some feet and good ground fighting? Any help at all would be apprecatied and I know everyone has there oppinion about which art is best but I would really like facts not oppinions.

Style
    Hillbilly Judo
    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Quote Originally Posted by cgreen02
    At the start of the week I decided I wanted to study martial arts. I am a full time college student with a lot of spare time on my hands. I'm sure this question has been ask dozens of times but I can't seem to find any old post on here about it. I am wainting to study Karate.... I think.... I would really like to study an art that was mostly hand striking with some feet, and if the fight went to the ground I would also have ground fighting skills. So I guess my question is what martial art and which style in that art would be the best for me to get stand up fighting with mostly hands but some feet and good ground fighting? Any help at all would be apprecatied and I know everyone has there oppinion about which art is best but I would really like facts not oppinions.
    Pleasure to meet you,

Karate's focus is pretty evenly divided between hands and feet but I suppose you could just choose to fight with your fists more. I don't think anyone's going to stop you.