224672 Bullies, 3582 online  
  • Register
Our Sponsors:

Page 1 of 4 1 234 LastLast
Sponsored Links Spacer Image

I'm not witty enough for this custom title.

Posted On:
    9/04/2007 12:01pm

Style: In Hiatus

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Recreating Mitose's Kenpo?

Hey,

I have some previous experience in the Tracy System of Kenpo, but I was wondering about the style that Mitose originally taught.

Recently, I've been able to get my hands on Mitose's "What is Self Defense? (Kenpo Jiu-Jitsu)," and was wondering if that is a good guide to recreating Mitose's art as he originally taught it (and perhaps as he originally learned it?).

Also, does Kosho-Ryu Kenpo teach exactly what Mitose once taught, or has it evolved over time?

Just wondering, as I cannot get any good info on this.

Thanks for any replies.

EDIT: BTW, don't try to get me wrong, I'm not trying to create another martial art, LOL. I'm just trying to get some historical insight into Kenpo, see how close the Tracy System is to it, and to see what *the original* Kenpo looked like before Mitose and then others added on to it.
    Last edited by krazy kaju; 9/04/2007 12:16pm at .

Registered Member

Posted On:
    9/10/2007 11:18pm

Style: TMA, MMA

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Kaju, I would hope that Kosho-ryu has evolved in the last fifty years, while still maintaining the spirit of the lineage. Something to remember is that MA is personal in nature. I could have studied Tracy's kenpo, under the same instructor, and still have a different personal style compared to you. So, the only way to truly recreate Mitose's Kenpo is to have Mitose teach it.

Enforcer of Northeast Anti-Silliness Department Inc.

Posted On:
    9/11/2007 12:45am

supporting member
     Style: Kaju, BJJ, Judo, Kempo

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!