Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Featherweight

Posted On:
    8/26/2007 1:31am

Bullshido Newbie
     Style: Kempo, Kyokushin n00b

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Anybody know of good Connecticut MA schools?

I've been training "Shaolin" Kempo (not Villari's or USSD, my instructor split off from them when they started calling meetings and talking about how much money they made instead of their instruction quality) for about six years now, and I just got my second dan a few months back. Around then I figured great, second degree not doing too bad. But then I realized that with almost NO sparring, and definitley no full contact sparring (unless it was outside of class or after it) I've been wasting my time for the past six years. My instructor is great and has trained police officers and was a cop in worcester for a long ass time, but I feel like all that hasn't done anything good for me. Although he gave me permission to run a full contact sparring class, I feel like there's nothing good that I could teach anybody at this point in that situation, other than what I already know. I've been looking into a BJJ school near me thats a Royce Gracie BJJ school, but I can't find any information on the guy who runs it other than he's been training with Royce for 15 years apparently. The site is www.gracie-jiu-jitsu.com.

Even though I've had\ other people outside of my school compliment my fighting stlye I feel like my grappling and striking skills are at best mediocre, and I'm really wondering what would be good to compliment my basic skills. At this point I feel like anything short of Muay Thai or kyokushin would be a waste of my time. Any advice?

Sorry for the novel there, but this has been bugging me for a while now. I enjoy kempo, but I really really am in need of finding something more practical. Any help would be appreciated.

Featherweight

Posted On:
    9/05/2007 3:17pm

Bullshido Newbie
     Style: MMA

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!