Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Registered Member

Posted On:
    8/23/2007 3:05am

Style: Muay Thai/BJJ

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

toe sprain/toe ligament injury

I seem to have a recurring injury to the big toe of my left foot, every time i stub it or subject it to a medium+ level of pushing pressure, it becomes very painful to put weight on or push on, particularly from the side. having read around a bit i think it may be comparable to turf toe. It has been happening on and off for a couple of years now and I have the vague notion it can be traced back to smashing against someones knee when going for an inside low kick.

Anyone have similar, any tips for prevention/cure etc? heat, ice etc? I find binding it difficult but effective at least to some degree. other than that i am kind of lost. Doctor says rest, but when i had 3 months off with a shin fracture the toe healed up, only to come back immediately when i started training again, i dont want another few months off.

Registered Member

Posted On:
    8/23/2007 5:02am

Style: BJJ/no-gi

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    I have exactly the same problem, don;t know if there's much that can be done about it to be honest! I found this a while ago but it;s a bit OTT to apply before every session:

http://www.athleticadvisor.com/Injur...toe_taping.htm

I also started a thread about the possibility of wearing wrestling shoes to practice:

http://www.bullshido.net/forums/show...ight=wrestling

Registered Member

Posted On:
    8/24/2007 10:11am

Style: BJJ

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Quote Originally Posted by john joe
    Doctor says rest, but when i had 3 months off with a shin fracture the toe healed up, only to come back immediately when i started training again, i dont want another few months off.
    find another doctor, preferably one with similar sports experience (maybe a former wrestler) or a sports specific doctor.