Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Registered Member

Posted On:
    8/11/2007 11:21pm

Style: Muay Thai

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Questions about FMA/Kali/Eskrima

I didn't know if I could be a stupid noob here, but here goes nothing...

From what I understand Kali is the Krabi Krabong of Eskrima...?

Kali came before Eskrima and was the combat version?

What all does FMA entail? At my gym I sneak in on the FMA guys every once in a while and see some serious Dog Brother style beatings. All they wear is shinguards, mouthgards, and a cup. I've only seen them use the rattan sticks, but I thought FMA used other weapons (like knives) also. Let it be said, I've only seen them a few times...and it looks so goddamn cool.

I got an axe to grind

Posted On:
    8/12/2007 12:24am

supporting member
     Style: thai.kali.no-gi.

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    The basic idea is that Kali, Escrima and Arnis are all just names for the same family of arts.

Escrima, Kali, Arnis... all of them are combat arts.

You have people like Tuhon Leo Gaje who say "Kali is the pure mother style"...
    you have others who say "Escrima is the original name.. Inosanto made up the name
    "kali"...it's an American invention".

The stick fights you see can mostly be converted into blade techniques.
    Most of what I show my guys (since they are newbs) is blade stuff.. because many of
    them work doors and are worried about defending against the knife attack.

FMA used sticks, staffs, spears, bolos, parangs, knives, ropes, yo-yo's, thrown weapons...
    all sorts of things.

Ultimately FMAs are about being able to (ideally) use ANYTHING as a weapon.

Which school do you train at Pasley? I'd love to come out to Memphis one weekend
    and meet the FMA guys there... Always good to be on friendly terms with the neighbors.
    let's talk about why fat-fu shall we?

Registered Member

Posted On:
    8/12/2007 11:13am

Style: Muay Thai

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!