Posted On:
    7/16/2007 3:35pm

Bullshido Newbie
     Style: WTF Taekwondo

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

WTF TKD Sparring

Hello Everyone,
    I'm relatively new to the site, and, as my screen name shows, relatively new to TKD. I'm 25 years old and i'm a white belt, yellow tip. I grew up playing baseball and football but once i graduated college, it wasn't quite the workout and competiveness that i was looking for. I started in the ITA(which i quickly found to be a load of crap) but changed to WTF.

I have my first tourney coming up in August and i was just looking for some sparring tips. I'm 5'7'' 180(which i know is on the heavy side, but i lost fifteen pounds from 195 and i'm trying to get to 170, so i'm still working on the weight loss). I know it'll be difficult against taller opponents.

I spar with my black belt instructor in class and he doesn't take it light on me b/c i'm new. i realize he does this b/c it'll only make me better. But i still get frustrated not being able to catch him off guard like he catches me. Again, i'm just looking for some tips to help me out at my tourney. All critics welcome. thanks in advance for any advice. :occasion1

Registered Member

Posted On:
    7/16/2007 3:55pm

Style: Sword

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Quote Originally Posted by new2tkd
    I started in the ITA(which i quickly found to be a load of crap) but changed to WTF.
    What's the difference between these two orgs?

Featherweight

Posted On:
    7/16/2007 4:04pm

Bullshido Newbie

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!