Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Featherweight

Posted On:
    6/26/2007 2:48pm

Bullshido Newbie

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Shoe use in kicking

I'm now training in a San Shou/Sanda program in China, and without making an unnecessarily long post, we've switched from doing shoe kicks (like in my wing tsun program in the states) to barefoot kicks. However, I have no intention of competing, my training is mostly for pride/self defense. So if I ever throw a kick at someone, it's gonna be with my shoes on. However, this sanda program has us doing this high kicks with our instep as the hitting portion, and I've already hurt myself trying to do a high roundhouse (I'm a noob, I know). My suspicion is that I should mentally translate all the striking surface of these kicks into the heel or toe of my shoe (i wear fairly sturdy shoes). What are your thoughts?

Registered Member

Posted On:
    6/26/2007 3:56pm

Style: KARATE / MUAY THAI

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    personally, (im presuming youre only there temporarily) i'd just work through their training methods and learn what they have to teach you while youre there, then adapt it when you return. anyhow, when are you ever going to throw a headkick in self defence?

if youre interested in 'shoe' kicking, get a book on savate...

MADE OF STEEL!

Posted On:
    6/26/2007 4:03pm

supporting member
     Style: MMA

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Where in China do you train?
    I need to get my butt over there at some point for academic reasons, and I'd like to do some San Da while I'm in the neighborhood.

Featherweight

Posted On:
    6/26/2007 7:41pm

Bullshido Newbie

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    I'm in Tianjin, and there's one place right at the university and another place a bit further out. I don't remember the name of it, but if you want, I could look it up.

I have a suspicion there's San Da pretty much everywhere in China.

Registered Member

Posted On:
    6/27/2007 2:45am

Style: Tae Kwon Do(GTF now)

--