Posted On:
    6/13/2007 1:54am

Bullshido Newbie
     Style: boxing

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Question: Punching

(newbie preamble)
    I am a newbie (although I've lurked a bit) and this is my first post. Be gentle, yes?

(context)
    Started going regularly (ie. 3 to 4 times a week) to a boxing gym about a month ago. In adequate and by no means spectacular physical condition. I realize there aren't a whole lot of boxers in this forum, even if it is Strikeistan, but perhaps the question is relevant in general.

A few days ago I discovered that I cannot raise my right hand behind my back. Even placing the back of my right hand against my lower back causes pain, and trying to raise it any further makes my shoulder/upper arm feel like it's on fire. This is only an issue with my right arm; my left is fine. The fact that i'm a southpaw might have something to do with it.

So I waited for the pain to subside, like all the other miscellaneous little aches that one gets after an intense session at the gym, but it never did and it's starting to annoy me. Brought it up to my coach, and he said that it might have something to do with the way I punch? Apparently I am not supposed to rely as much on my right shoulder to throw a jab as I currently am. He did try to demonstrate, but I really couldn't understand what he was saying/doing with my arm at all.

If someone could explain to me what's going on here, I'd be very grateful. Also, I'd like to know if I'm developing bad habits when punching that might come back and bite me in the butt some day. I do try to do everything with correct form (stance correct, back straight, no excessive arching/hunching, etc), but perhaps I'm doing something wrong. Thoughts?

Being Sublime Daily

Posted On:
    6/13/2007 2:08am

supporting member
     Style: BJJ/MT

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Stop. Do not go to your coach, do not go to an internet forum. Go to a doctor.

Posted On:
    6/13/2007 2:11am

Style: crapp-lawl-ing

--