221316 Bullies, 4085 online  
  • Register
Our Sponsors:

Page 1 of 3 1 23 LastLast
Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Enforcer of Northeast Anti-Silliness Department Inc.

Posted On:
    5/23/2007 12:50am

supporting member
     Style: Kaju, BJJ, Judo, Kempo

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Enlightened Child

Some of you know that I used to be a Kempo instructor, I got fed up with BS, I still do some private lessons here and there, yadda yadda etcetera etcetera....

So I got a phone call today while I was at Jits from one of the kids I still teach (9yr old) whom recently tested for his brown belt in Kempo. In short, this kid had the epiphany at 9yrs old that took me until I was 19! *wipes away a tear* makes me so proud.

Here's the conversation from memory minus some personal tidbits...

Me: Hello?
    Kid: Hey Nidan Jim, I just wanted to talk to you, to ask you a few questions/
    Me: Ok... shoot.
    Kid: Well, do you remember when you were younger, when you were a brown belt?
    Me: Yeah, sure
    Kid: Well...was your test hard?
    Me: Um...I suppose. Why do you ask?
    Kid: Well....I was training really hard, because I was expecting a hard test....and I don't think it was even an hour long. And there was a lot of people, so they barely even checked all my moves that I practiced.
    Me: Well buddy, you do remember when I told you how tests are just a formality to show the higher ranks that you know your stuff, and that it was my job to make sure you were ready and earned before the test even took place?
    Kid: Yeah...but Shihan wasn't even there to see the test. It was like they just had us come in, do some things and then gave us the belts. It was like they just wanted the money for the test.
    Me: *Nearly choking on my water bottle* Wha....wait....I'm sorry. What was that about money?