Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Administrator

Posted On:
    5/04/2007 9:11am

staff
     Style: xingyi

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Not all chinese martial artists want to spar.

With all the Drama lately lets add some more.

Not all chinese martial artists want to spar. It's true enough in my school. More power to them, for 99% of us, this is a hobby.
    Isol8d brought this up in the critique this forum thread. I think it is a topic that can be discussed.

I agree to a certain extent. I have no problem with hobbyists none at all. I have problem with hobbyists thinking no sparring=Self Defense.

No, I'm not going to get into the whole debate of what's the definition of Martial Art. We have enough threads on this in the regular forum.

Registered Member

Posted On:
    5/04/2007 9:22am

Style: Xing-Yi

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    I spar as much as I can. We spar in classes. We get together on occasion with other chi-munchers and spar.

And I am a hobbyist. (Fake, i think you an I already debated this a bit so if it is rehash, I can edit)

To me a hobbyist is someone who doesnt make a life directed around it. I work a full time job. I am a drunk and like to chase tail. I like to play poker. I like to train Xing-Yi. To me that makes me a hobbyist.

So me, my life every week is about:
    50 hours job
    10-20 hours Xing-Yi/gym/class
    8-12 hours drunk tail chasing
    Poker to fill in the blanks

If it was
    60 hours Xing-Yi/gym/class
    then i wouldnt cal it a hobby.

Administrator

Posted On:
    5/04/2007 10:29am

staff

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    That's why I quoted Isol8d per his definition, hobbyists don't like sparring. I considered it a hobby until I decided to teach.

I no longer teach, it is a hobby again. A hobby is really no reason to think doing forms is going to make you able to do SD. This is a distinction rarely made by hobbyists.