Page 1 of 3 123 Last
    Style
    BJJ, MMA
    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Massive weight mismatch

I have been training in BJJ for about 4 months now. So far, the one thing I have the most trouble with is rolling with people much larger than me. I weigh 135 pounds, and I regularly have to roll with guys that are about 210 pounds. Most of my techniques seem to be negated just based on the huge size difference alone. I do very, very well against others that are somewhat near my weight, but when it comes to these other guys, it seems that I cant do anything. What is the best way to aproach this situation?

Style
    BJJ - Homeland Security
    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Lift weights obsessively and train twice as much as they do. That's the formula our gym's best fighter uses and as a blue belt he was putting 200lbs purple belts to sleep.

There's really no answer beyond working harder.

Style
    TKD BJJ
    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Your sparring partners may outweigh you by 70+ lbs, but i'll bet that they can't keep the pace that you can (maybe not now, but in the long run)...so work on developing an aggressive game, and not staying in one place. Always use your hips, and look to change positions frequently. With your weight, you can keep up a good pace w/out petering out too quickly, and you can probably transition positions much better. At some point you'll tire your buddies out, and get the upper hand.

Unless, that is, they are much more experienced than you. Then you're just screwed.

Style
    BJJ, MMA
    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Thanks for the help guys.

Porcupine/Hollywood, FL & Parmistan via Elbonia
    Style
    creonte on hiatus
    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Last edited by Shuma-Gorath; 4/24/2007 3:02pm at .