Posted On:
    3/30/2007 6:12pm

Style: Aikido, BJJ

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Aikido of Arlington

Evaluated according to:
    http://www.bullshido.net/forums/showthread.php?t=48577

Full disclosure: I am not an Iwama stylist, though I have some prior experience with it. This may be considered an outsider's perspective.

This is a rather good little Iwama dojo. As per the norm for that style, there's a lot of work on body mechanics and "path of least resistance"-type training. (More "feel" than "form".) For example, there's the usual inclusion of static, firm grips for basic training, with focus on breaking through that strength with posture and angle.

The instructor is very much qualified, and the black belts know their stuff too. This school is a great opportunity for personal attention from knowledgeable people who can feel your technique and give you tips on what is/isn't working. On the downside, she doesn't teach every night; the worst aikido class I've ever attended was here, when this one bozo led practice. But mostly, good instruction.

It's generally an older crowd: thirties and forties. This means that there's no conditioning to speak of.

Not the best place ever, but pretty decent. I enjoy training there, and have learned a lot.

Classes meet every night except Wednesdays and Sundays for about 2 hours per night.

Aliveness: It's traditional aikido; there is no competitive sparring. That said, from an aikido perspective, it does have a reasonable measure of "live" spirit; people do not fling themselves around. (Again, it's Iwama, so its focus is if anything on just-won't-budge partner practice.) Thus there is a certain integrity to the training.