Page 1 of 3 123 Last
    Style
    BJJ blue, judo ikkyu
    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Is it possible to integrate grappling into TMA?

<<<Introductory post>>>

Hi. I've been training for 7 years in isshinryu (see below for what that includes).

Do people here think it is possible to integrate grappling into TMA? (My answer is yes) It seems that no one else thinks so--the existence of the term "crappling" suggests a certain level of elitism.

My school practices light contact sparring, various forms of sticky hands, grappling, judo throws (no randori), and kata. We teach choking, striking, locks, holds and escapes with various levels of aliveness. We do kata with an emphasis on practical application, but wristlocks, armbars, osotogari and ogoshi are basic techniques as well.

Just testing the waters for what the community thinks (and getting my first post out so I don't get that huge text across the top of the forums...).

-1point2

KungFuBot
    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    So 1point2, you decided to go ahead and register huh? Cool. Don't forget to review your dojo.

Style
    etc
    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    well one thing to remember that what we call "TMA" in the west isn't that traditional at all. in the native environment of Okinawa, "traditionally" a lot of folks would have practiced Okinawan sumo as a recreational passtime. Thus, they had grappling training already.

Also since the MA community was small and tight knit there, it wasn't unusual for a person to do karate, sumo and/or kendo and judo. If you start training at the age of 6 (like some guys I grew up with) then you have lots of time to be exposed to the various disciplines.

Northeast Anti-Silliness Department Inc. supporting member
    Style
    Kaju, BJJ, Judo, Kempo
    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Impossible! Blasphemy even!
    Knowing is not enough, you must apply...
    ...Willing is not enough you must do
    ~Bruce Lee

Style
    BJJ
    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!