Posted On:
    3/13/2007 6:56am

Bullshido Newbie
     Style: Muay Thai

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Moving in angles

I have a problem while sparring:
    my opponent punches me with jab / cross combos, i move backwards and he follows me.
    It usually ends with me hanging in ropes while he uses me as a heavybag.
    I read somewhere on this site in order to avoid this to move backwards in angles.
    What is exactly meant with that, does anyone know a fight/sparring video where it is shown?
    If i move backwards i can use my left lead leg to push me a bit to the right, so i don't get away in a straight line, is that what is meant?

and good morning to you too

Posted On:
    3/13/2007 7:19am

supporting member
     Style: MT/BJJ

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    basically, you move off at about a 45 degree angle away from their power hand. Watch any boxing match ever and they'll circle each other.

I'm a bit surprised your coach hasn't show you this - it's pretty basic.
    You can't make people smarter. You can expose them to information, but your responsibility stops there.

software engineer

Posted On:
    3/13/2007 7:22am

supporting member
     Style: kickboxing

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Quote Originally Posted by PirateJon
    basically, you move off at about a 45 degree angle away from their power hand. Watch any boxing match ever and they'll circle each other.

I'm a bit surprised your coach hasn't show you this - it's pretty basic.
    lol they don't teach retreat in moo tai lol
    52 blocks documentary: arrived

"Joe Lauzon looks like a quiet, Internet guy..." -- Dana White

Porcupine/Hollywood, FL & Parmistan via Elbonia

Posted On:
    3/13/2007 7:29am

supporting member
     Style: creonte on hiatus

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!