Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Featherweight

Posted On:
    3/02/2007 2:36pm

Bullshido Newbie
     Style: Jiu Jitsu (GI, No Gi)

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Informal way to lean Jiu-Jitsu, effective?

Hi guys, first of all let me say hello to everyone since I am new to these forums. I have read many threads, articles and looked at some vids, and I think that this is a very unique site. Anyways, on to my question...(lengthy post)

I am a "gaijin" currently residing in Okinawa, Japan. I studied Karate back in the states when I was a teen, and even though Okinawa is the birthplace of Karate, I did not want to get into it. Instead, with the help of some Japanese friends, I found the Okinawan Submission Club...I did not know what it was at first, but I wanted to learn submission grappling so I went. It turns out that twice a week students meet up for 2-3 hours at a middle school Judo gym. We pay 300 yen each per class( 2.30 us or thereabouts) basically just to pay for the place we use.

I did not know what to expect, but basically it is a group of people with mixed levels of experience in JJ. One guy is the champ in Okinawa, with 7 years of exp. Another has 6, another 4, etc etc. I was a begginer. Basically everyone is super nice, and it consists of maybe 30-40 mins of technique training by the elder students, and then its basically 2 hours of sparring. You roll with whoever you want, and get challenged to either 3 or 5 min rounds, or no time limit rounds until someone loses. (record for me was 20 mins)