Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Registered Member

Posted On:
    2/28/2007 5:17am

Style: non right now

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

martial arts and body problems

i have realy bad tendinitis in both of my wrists and im looking to study an effective martial art.i want something that will be great for self defense but won't kill my body in the process.any suggestions?
    im a drummer by trade so i can't risk screwing up my wrists or ankles to where i can't play.but i reall want to take a effective martial art.

Registered Member

Posted On:
    2/28/2007 5:20am

Style: MT, Boxing,ITF TKD

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Savate?

Graviora Manent

Posted On:
    2/28/2007 5:53am

Join us... or die
     Style: No gym currently.

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Quote Originally Posted by drummingman
    i have realy bad tendinitis in both of my wrists and im looking to study an effective martial art.i want something that will be great for self defense but won't kill my body in the process.any suggestions?
    im a drummer by trade so i can't risk screwing up my wrists or ankles to where i can't play.but i reall want to take a effective martial art.
    hi dude... you've posted about the effectiveness of Aikido... I wouldn't consider aikido if you have bad wrists... or indeed any art that's going to look at hyper-extension as a normal part of training. You can't drum with a bad shoulder or elbow either, I guess? I would guess (depending on how bad your wrists are) that puts other grappling arts out of the question.

I'd say boxing is your best bet... make sure you use wrist supports or handwraps to help bolster your wrists. This also answers your self-defence question from the other threads, too.
    Where there is only a choice between cowardice and violence, I would advise violence.

Gandhi

Registered Member

Posted On:
    2/28/2007 6:16am

Style: karate,judo,JJ,Aikido,TKD

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!