Page 1 of 4 1 234 LastLast
Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Posted On:
    2/26/2007 3:03pm

Bullshido Newbie
     Style: VARIOUS

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Short-lived aikido experience- views please!

Started Aikido in a local sports center about five weeks ago. Seemed okay but very confusing. Teacher (3rd Dan ) wore a skirt thing but everyone else wore white judogis and white belts, so it was hard to know who was experienced and who wasn't.

As a newbie I got given about 10min instruction/practice at the start of each session on breakfalls/rolls.

After that I would muck in with all the others. The format was that the teacher would demonstrate a technigue several times, without much explanation, and then people would pair off to practice it. The teacher would circulate around and correct things if they looked wrong or if people were confused.

On the third class (two weeks ago), I was with a bloke practicing some technique involving being put into a fancy wristlock and then having to do a forward roll. At one point I was confused about what to do, so the bloke says "do a forward roll". I didn't feel correctly setup for the roll, the wrong leg was forward, but I did one anyway.

I landed heavily on top of my shoulder and ended up with an acromio-clavicular joint separation. It was very sore for a week but is slowly improving now. The physio says I will have to avoid stressing my shoulder for another 3 to 4 weeks. The extra bump I now have on top of my shoulder is, apparently, for life

Turns out the dojo floor is concrete under fairly thin mats!

The irony is that I had also recently started judo, and was pretty sure that that would be where I would be most likely to get injured.

Is this just very bad luck, or have I chosen an aikido setup that is not ideal? I'd appreciate the views of those who have a fair bit of aikido experience. I need to decide if I'm going to go back or not when my shoulder is fixed.

Escapist

I am a Ninja bitches!! Deal with it

Posted On: