Sponsored Links Spacer Image

***ned

Posted On:
    9/12/2002 11:40am

supporting member
     Style: i

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    hey everyone, i'm a newb to martial arts, took a few years of TKD when I was 8 =P, other than that, no experience. However, I'm gonna be going to college soon at UCSD (university of california san diego) and there are a few martial arts classes I'm interested in. I've been doing my research, and I've decided that grappling is the way to go (for striking purposes, my roommate's gonna be teaching me some kung fu, and before any of you say anything, what have I got to lose, right? hahah) anyhow, they offer a BJJ and a Judo class and I was just wondering, what should I look for when I'm sitting in for a few classes? I'd like real word application of course, but I wouldn't mind a sport competition factor too, just for the fact of getting in shape, and disciplining the body. But yeah, what should I look for/pay attention to? Thanks for your help guys!

-dj

Co-Founder, Retired Admin

Posted On:
    9/12/2002 12:54pm

supporting member
     Style: BJJ, Karate,

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Look for a qualified instructor first. You can find a list of them on the net. Where are you going to school? The classes will probably have some technical aspects, such as drills, following the warm up and then some actual grappling time.

"Do not become entranced by impractical or useless movements. Do not be categorized as one who "Learns all there is to know about less and less until he ends up learning everything there is to know about nothing." -Ed Parker
    "All warfare is based on deception." -Sun Tzu, ca. 400BC

Reverse punch Kiaii!!!

Co-Founder, Retired Admin

Posted On:
    9/12/2002 12:54pm

supporting member
     Style: BJJ, Karate,

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!