Modesty forbids more.

Posted On:
    2/12/2007 11:48am

supporting member
     Style: Muay Thai, BJJ newbie.

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Martial arts in Brazil: an overview.

For those of you who are new to this site, hi - I am Francisco Santos, a 28 years old brazilian lawyer who was saved from Wing Chun by bullshido three years ago. I am also a judo purple belt, and I am currently studying both MT and BJJ (the latter only once a week, I have work to attend to); I also have a little experience in ITF TKD and Praying Mantis McDojos.

I decided to create this thread to share with you guys - specially the non brazilian crowd, i.e., pretty much everyone here - my experiences with martial arts in Brazil, and with the martial artists associated with it.

For the past two years I have been absent from this site, mostly because of work, but frankly, because it is annoying to speak about martial arts all day with people I will never have the chance to meet personally, much less spar with. So I have spent some time on orkut.com, a sort of myspace.com hugely popular here: I have joined endless debates on aikido and wing chun communities, I have been challenged by aikidokas and chunners, and I have lived to tell the tale (mostly because the challengers never agreed to meet me).

I have also had some surprisingly good meetings with people from various martial arts here.

That will suffice as an introduction, let´s get on to business. I will start with an actual overview, then say a little about every martial art I know of here, wether by practicing it, by sparring with practitioners, or by reading endless drama wars from practitioners who never rose up to the challenge of going to one of our mettings.

The overview:

Here we have pretty much anything, from too deadly to spar chunners to tree hugging aikidokas to Chuteboxe and Gracie Barra. Ninjas, too, if you look hard enough.