Page 1 of 4 1 234 LastLast
Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Registered Member

Posted On:
    9/10/2002 9:38pm

Style: JUDO

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    I've been training shotokan karate for 7 months now - already done 2 gradings . I'm planning to add JUDO or BJJ. Which one is a better style?

What do you think of this link?

http://members.lycos.co.uk/fight/judo/judovsbjj.html

Registered Member

Posted On:
    9/11/2002 4:08am

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    BJJ
  3. 9chambers

Posted On:
    9/11/2002 10:16am

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Interesting link.

Posted On:
    9/11/2002 11:47am

Business Class Supporting Memberstaff
     Guy Who Pays the Bills and Gets the Death Threats Style: MMA (Retired)

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Yes, interesting article, but it leaves out many of the defeats Judokas suffered at the hands of BJJ stylists.

We've even got an old video of the Gracies mopping up an entire Judo Dojo to the point the instructor has to ask them to stop using Newaza because it's "too dangerous".

Both Judo and BJJ have strengths. I personally feel BJJ is more practical in situations where someone actually wants to kill you. The U.S. Military is instructing its soldiers in BJJ now.

Judo is primarily a sport martial art, whereas BJJ is designed to be of use in practical application. Yes, there are sport BJJ competitions, but the focus of the art itself is to allow a smaller, weaker opponent to defend against a stronger heavier attacker, which is what few martial arts (especially striking arts) can legitimately claim to do.
  5. Michael

Posted On:
    9/11/2002 2:36pm

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    I hate agreeing with Phrost because he's wrong half the time (bwhahahahahaha.) but BJJ is usually more complete compared to Judo. Judo is more sports orientated these days and to tell you the truth so is BJJ but they deal with more technique.

Posted On:
    9/11/2002 6:05pm

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!