1/23/2007 7:15pm

Bullshido Newbie
     Style: Tae Kwon Do

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Bodyweight exercices, BS or not?

Hi everybody,

(Hi, dr. Nick...)

I just found these sites, since I'm pretty new to bodyweight exercices I have no idea if they're BS or not. Can I have your insight?

http://www.angelfire.com/ny5/shenandoah/OBB/OBB.html
    --> It shows a lot of exercices on the end of the page.

http://www.sandowplus.co.uk/Competit...witt-intro.htm
    --> This site looks a lot like some site I've seen from Farmer Burns, which has been discussed on this forum allready.

http://www.sport-fitness-advisor.com/index.html
    --> Just seems like an interesting site to me...

I would have searched those 2 first sites myself here on this forum, but the search function doesn't work somehow. (It did work when I became a member here, I think about a month ago)

Thanks for helping me out, guys. (Thanks for the info here on Matt Furey, luckily I only just downloaded his book illegaly, instead of buying it)
    Cheers

Porcupine/Hollywood, FL & Parmistan via Elbonia

Posted On:
    1/23/2007 7:55pm

supporting member
     Style: creonte on hiatus

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    They are not BS if done correctly. I'm switching to an almost BW-only routine during weekdays, leaving only front squats, barbell rows, leg curls/extensions, chin ups and lunges on Sats and Sundays. On weekdays/weeknights, my main exercises are burbees and one-hand push ups (or jumping push ups, whichever I feel like doing).

Things like burpees and jumping/clasping push ups when done to failure are murder and make your heart almost jump out of your throat. In fact, jumping push ups (and specially star jumping push ups) hit my chest far better than bench presses without killing my shoulders.

This is one type of push ups I do (without the ball though, http://youtube.com/watch?v=U4YevblOsUU)

For legs, pistols are a bitch as well.