Featherweight

Posted On:
    11/19/2006 9:03pm

Bullshido Newbie
     Style: Mixed Diciplines

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Finnish Jujutsu Style - Hokutoryu:

So, not sure if this is exactly the place to post this. I thought about posting links with pictures, clips and movies about the style that I practise mainly called Hokutoryu, secondary styles that I occasionally practise are BJJ and KB but I am no expert on either, my grapling skills on the ground are at the moment better than my stand up striking which is totally BJJ's result.

From you guys, I hope input and feedback on what you think based on mys description and the movies and images.

First, some links: http://www.hokutoryu.ir/gallery.htm (this is the site of Iranian club whit extensive gallery of many training camps, No fucking idea how it has spread there as Iran and Finland are not close by any means, my gues is that there were a exchange student or refugee who trained in Finland and spread the style, I do not know how big is in there, might be one club, might be hundred???)

Movies: http://www.ju-jutsuklubi.fi/mediav.php (this is one of the very few sites where there is even small clips of the techniques, the 7# video is sparring altough by the grace of god I do not know why they have put that up, since I am a orange belt and our sparring is with more speed, contact and intention than that, IMO a bad vid to be labeled sparring...)

Here is one more link: http://www.mikkelinjujutsu.net/ at the center of the page there is a link:
    Lajiesittelyn 2006 video
    (28 mb)
    Click on it and then save or open, it is a longer video of a demo a club in Mikkeli did.

I can dig up more videos and pictures later if people are interested.

A short analysis and history of the style (by me from various sources): Hokutoryu Ju-jutsu would more accurately be said to be Goshin Jutsu style, since it has no direct historical lineage to JJJ, it shares in great deal the history of the British Jujitsu.