Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Registered Member

Posted On:
    11/14/2006 11:35pm

Style: Judo

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Judo has built bad habits?

i feel like the more restrictive ruleset of judo groundwork has caused me to ignore a lot of possible submissions on the BJJ mat, causing me to fall victim to them and miss opportunities for them.

admittedly, i'm a total newb in both arts, but i was rolling bjj today and got subbed with an ankle lock. so i did both the gi and the no-gi class today, and here's how it went:

person A rolls with me in the gi class, and i keep him pinned and sub him several times.

then person A asks instructor of no gi class about ankle locks and promptly submits me with one on our second go. he informs me that i had been leaving my feet and legs vulnerable all day, he just didn't know what to do with them. i feel like i've gotten a false sense of security from expecting primarily armbars and chokes and shoulder locks.

now i have been *told* that upper-body submissions are higher-percentage than lower-body submissions, but i don't know that this is true. the no-gi instructor rolled with every single one of us and subbed every single one of us with some kind of leg or ankle lock.

and of course, i'm watching this happen and thinking "wtf? judo has made me stupid"

i mean, is this true? is judo groundwork to bjj what boxing is to muay thai, having a vastly more restrictive ruleset but still having value? or will judo make you stupid?

a lot of you guys practice judo, i know. would you recommend judo groundwork in addition to bjj for any reason, or are the throwing techniques the only reason for a bjj player to study judo?

BJJ Black Belt

Posted On:
    11/14/2006 11:48pm

supporting member
     Style: Rex Kwon Do

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!