Lightweight

Posted On:
    10/15/2006 9:14pm

supporting member
     Style: Bjj/Machado/Pittman

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Dallas Texas- Carlos Machado's Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu

To save time, I will assume everyone knows who Carlos Machado is and his credentials, I will focus this review on the school itself.

I trained at Carlo's over summer break between May and August 2006. I am currently a college student, so whenver I am in Dallas I train at this school. I'm going to break the review down on categories for ease of use

Facilities: The matts are well maintained and cleaned at least twice a day. There is ample room in the changing area. Bathrooms contain scales and are always clean and stocked. There is no equipment really but its Bjj so its not really a big factor.

Students: With one exception, every single student I met here was helpful, friendly and extremely knowledgeable. The students are comitted and, from my limited perspective, highly skilled. One interesting note, everyone in the academy seemed on the large and strong side. There were some smaller guys but at 150lbs I was usually outweighed by at least 20 lbs. Personally, I feel this made me better than I would have been at Jiu-jitsu and its truly satisfying to make techniques work on someone with a large weight advantage over you. The atmosphere was familiar with no trace of the bullshit egoism and alpha male crap I read about in some schools. I was never placed in danger or injured by any of my training partners.

Instruction: Carlos himself is excellent, he has the incredible ability to remember every single student's name after a single introduction. In 4 months I never once saw him forget who someone was or fail to remember a personal conversation. He is also very kind and can be pretty funny. The lower belts that assist Carlos are also excellent and patient instructors. I never once had a question that Carlos or a lower level instructor could not answer 100%.