Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Registered Member

Posted On:
    10/15/2006 1:30am

Style: no-gi judo

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

American Jujitsu?

Ok theres this MMA school near where i live that i'm thinkin about checking out and it offers cornett AJJ (i kind of discussed this with phrost, but didnt go into any detail.) Could any of you kansas city area AJJers tell me a little bit about ajj, will i fit in, etc (i have 5 years of tkd experience i have denounced as useless in most situations and 4 months of jj experience)

heres the school: http://www.truefightfan.com/HOP.htm

john cornett is a pretty decorated fighter compared to others in the area i know of, so it must be fairly good.

all the rest of you......:nobodycar i guess

Featherweight

Posted On:
    10/16/2006 10:07am

supporting member
     Style: American JJ

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Honestly that depends on where you are located. AJJ is one of the best JJ schools around and does have good fighters. MFS has opened in Blue Springs, AJJ is teaching the JJ aspect of that at this point. Plenty of schools in the area, where are you located in the KC area? check out AJJ's website at www.combat-ajj.com for more information other than TrueFightFan. Hope that helps a little, didn't really answer anything, I'm pretty biased on the subject.

Break it down like this, from personal experience:

Technique-good

Local Fights-They can do that for you just make sure you fight people OUTSIDE of the AJJ affiliation (just about all the AJJ schools compete against each other, not a good thing)

Amateur/Pro-Odds are you will be amateur for lord knows how long, which to a point helps you but helps promoters more than it does you. If you go pro, fight outside of the KC area and get a manager outside of the AJJ system but still work with AJJ for your training.