224971 Bullies, 3330 online  
  • Register
Our Sponsors:

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Sponsored Links Spacer Image

His heart was visible, and the dismal sack that maketh excrement of what is eaten.

Posted On:
    10/03/2006 8:50am

supporting member

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Do You Think About Quitting?

This question is mainly for people that have been training for a few years.

I've been training for about 7 or 8 years. First with traditional MA's, and BJJ for the last couple of years. I've always considered myself pretty serious about training. I've always loved it. When I'm not doing it, I'm thinking about it or reading about it, or watching it on TV, or reading threads on this website.

But something hit me a week or two ago. It was basically just out of the blue. I was at home, and I pulled my guitar out for the first time in a while. I was sitting there playing, and I thought to myself, "Hey, this is a hell of a lot of fun. I'd rather be doing this than training."

So, I started thinking about what I'm doing and why I'm doing it, and to make a long story short - I started thinking about not training anymore. It's not about laziness. I've dealt with that and I know that passes. But in the past, even when I felt lazy, I always WANTED to train. I've never questioned whether I WANTED to be training until now. I've questioned whether I wanted to be training the way I'm training, but never whether I wanted to be training at all.

I turned 30 recently, and I don't know if my interests are just changing, or what. Anyway, I know that ultimately it is my decision whether I continue training or not. But I am curious to know if others who have been training for a few years have ever felt like this and how it turned out for you.

Registered Member

Posted On:
    10/03/2006 9:06am

Style: kung fu

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!