Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Registered Member

Posted On:
    9/27/2006 3:04pm

Style: BJJ

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Countering cross choke from guard

I am embarassed to ask this and can't find it online anywhere so I'm afraid the answer is self-evident and I'm just slow. I've been doing BJJ for about 6 months and remember in one of my first randori sessions, trying to cross choke someone when they me in their guard. Our instructor corrected me saying "you don't want to do that, you'll get armbarred pretty fast" and I saw the logic and never tried it again. Nobody else has tried it on me either... until last night in Judo class.

I was working with a fast, heavy brown belt with good ground skills, I tried my sweeps but couldn't get them off, scissors, pendulum and hip, and eventually he'd sink a strong cross grip in. I'd try to grab it and go for the arm bar but he'd eventually get the other grip in, pull em apart and I'd tap, happened 2-3 times.

So does anyone know have tips, videos or links to help with this? It's frustrating because I don't think I should be getting caught in this and the only thing I can think of is being a little more defensive in guard or drilling that situation with the armbar to get my timing faster than the other hand can get in.

Thanks for any help.

Administrator

Posted On:
    9/27/2006 3:40pm

supporting memberhall of famestaff
     Style: Muay Thai & BJJ

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    It's really simple.

1. Take your right hand, reach across your body, over his arms, and cup your opponents elbow.

2. Take your left hand, reach over your right forearm, and cup your right elbow.

3. Now squeeze both arms, like you are hugging yourself.

That will negate the cross choke while in guard.

Most people I've showed this too, don't know this counter, it's a good one to have.

Posted On:
    9/27/2006 4:13pm

supporting member
     Style: BJJ - Homeland Security

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!