Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Registered Member

Posted On:
    8/04/2006 12:15pm

Style: BJJ(blue)

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Strict or Laidback?

Altough I've been doing bjj for about 8 months, I've known several bjj students and instructors for a long time (roughly 10 years) and cruising trough several schools I've noticed that the teaching methods would greatly change from one to the other. Not a big deal of course, but what makes me wonder is the level of hierarchy and strictness around class. My instructor is a cool guy, we train, we laugh and stuff, but somehow he always slips a certain sense of strictness and hierarchy around class.
    In things like being placed by belt colour when opening and closing class, a certain "respect" for the higher belts when sparring or drilling, even the way the higher belts train with us...not braking our arms, etc. It's not like we don't roll for real or anything, it's simply a matter of not badmouthing, trashing or even striking a blue or purple belt for being subbed or choked. It goes the other way around when you are the blue/purple, etc belt.
    I'm talking about not lying around the mat when you are not rolling or drilling, no chit-chat when you're supposed to be training, bow before and after entering the mat. I don't considerate it too much of a deal...and I actually like it because it makes class more productive in sense, just because you can focus a whole lot better when you don't have a jackass talking in the back or fooling around. But hey, that's just me and my old school education at home.