Our Sponsors:

Page 1 of 3 1 23 LastLast
Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Registered Member

Posted On:
    7/11/2003 10:22am

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Hey guys, just joking with the subject line. I'm new here. I've been practicing Yang Taijiquan for about 6 years. I've been in two altercations, which were fairly minor. In both, my rooting and balance gave me a clear advantage against the non-martial-artists I fought. Big whoop, I know.

But still, I think that if there ever was a time that Tai Chi was NOT worthless for serious combat, that time is long gone. I do not know of a single modern-day Tai Chi practitioner that could do squat in a no-holds barred competition -- or even a stand-up only competition like the Sabaki Challenge, which I would someday like to participate in.

I am getting rid of the flaky postures and adapting tai chi principles to realistic attacks.

I've started trying to modify my Tai Chi for realistic stand-up fighting. Does ANYONE know of ANY video footage of Tai Chi fighters in REAL fights? I can't find any.

I can't seem to pull up the one on bullshido.com, "50 year old tai-chi master vs. 30 year old white crane stylist."

Any discussion on this would be appreciated. I'm open to criticism of Tai Chi and helpful pointers. I've cross-trained in several other styles, most of which are worthless by themselves.

Sinc,
    Tom

Posted On:
    7/11/2003 10:51am

Style: lame

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Hey Kungfoolss nice try.

Registered Member

Posted On:
    7/11/2003 10:53am

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    this is not kungfools. i'm serious.

Fighting Spirit is 90% of the battle. If you don't have it, you ain't **** -- regardless of what style you practice.

Marasmos

Posted On:
    7/11/2003 10:56am

supporting member
     Style: 10th Planet JJ

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    I'll give you the benefit of the doubt.