Our Sponsors:

Page 1 of 3 1 23 LastLast
Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Registered Member

Posted On:
    7/11/2003 5:24am

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    I have been practing "external" MA for almost 15 years now, due to its efficiency in combat as well as good overall conditioning.

Yesterday a friend of mine took me to his Aikido class, mainly because I had told him many times before that, in my opinion, I didn't believe that Aikido was so fantastic as some people like to say it is. He told this to his teacher (6th dan Aikikai), who asked me if a would like to see a demonstration.

I was completely dominated by this guy.

As I tried to "blast in" to punch him, he would just start turning (I think they call it Tenkan) and suddendly would grab my arm and put me on a lock.

I am not a beginner and I really tried to hit him many times as fast as I could, but he simply didn't let me do it.

I still think Aikido is not all of that, but I have to confess this guy impressed me. I prefer to think he is one of those "1 in 1000" Aikido/Taiji guys who can fight.

I would like to hear your comments and opinions about Aikido.

"Create as a God, command as a King, work as a Slave"

Posted On:
    7/11/2003 5:53am

supporting memberstaff
     Style: Grappling

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    lol

see thread

"Is Aikido effective" started by me
    i personally haven't sparred/beat on an akidoka yet but the stuff i've seen doesn't impress me

--
    Hard work, Patience, Dedication.
    http://www.fightauthority.com/
    Surfing Facebook at work? Spread the good word by adding us on Facebook today! https://www.facebook.com/Bullshido

Marasmos

Posted On:
    7/11/2003 10:53am

supporting member
     Style: 10th Planet JJ

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Bullshit.

------------------------
    I remain, Hapko3
    You say what about my rice?

Registered Member

Posted On:
    7/11/2003 11:10am

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    I prefer to believe that you fucking suck at fighting.