software engineer

Posted On:
    7/16/2006 2:44am

supporting member
     Style: kickboxing

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

video: critique my roundhouses

You might remember that other thread where I asked for critiques of my work on a heavy bag. There was a lot of noise, but I did get a lot of important feedback from folks, and so I went back to the lab. Also, I thought seeing myself on video was wonderfully useful.

A big problem people had with my last video was my roundhouse technique. In this video, I try to cover a range of how I might kick, just so people can go over and say, oh, B is more correct than A, or better technique, etc.

Context: I don't train in a class setting anymore, cuz I graduated and started working (very busily, apparently). So I have one guy who trains a little with me and the heavy bag. It's not a great situation; you can see how messy the area is, and that's after I cleaned up a lot. But it's most accessible to me now.
    I'm just kicking the bag, one roundhouse at a time. To the body. It's very basic, but I know from talking on the last thread that there's some problems.

Goal: In the vid, I'm kicking off my left and right leads, just for variety. My regular stance is southpaw. But I'm naturally right handed, and feel my right kick is better.

I've done the kick 3 ways: my ideal, hard, and recommended.

my ideal - I'm doing it with my "good" form. Quotes because this is how I feel it's best to kick. So not done with power, just "good" form.

hard - don't worry about technique, just kick as I would in an actual match or fight, as fast and hard as I can.

recommended - this is what WhiteShark has been patiently trying to explain to me. Here, I visualize spinning all the way around and turning my hip over. I emphasize these things as much as possible during the kick.

Bad habits I already noticed: