Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Registered Member

Posted On:
    7/03/2006 2:17pm

Style: BJJ

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Competition training

So, I just found out about a grappling competition that I could actually make it to in about a month and a week. I'm interested in entering the light-weight novice division (under 1 year experience), it's no-gi and I mostly do gi training. I've never done competition before, the rules and points system look fairly standard and I'm familiar with those, but I'm not sure what's best to work on in order to compete effectively.

Apart from standup and no gi training, are there exercises and drills that I should be doing to practice, and in addition, what level of intensity should I be practicing at, in terms of resistance and frequency? I don't want to injure myself/burn out, but I would like to be in top form for such a thing. Thank you!

Website for this competition: www.negrappling.com

Registered Member

Posted On:
    7/03/2006 2:42pm

Style: Relson Gracie Jiu-Jitsu

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Well, the rules are pretty much standard for BJJ.

Omega is not quite right in saying not try for a submission.
    If you submit you WIN. Of course you should train techniques - pass the guard, pass half guard, escape mount, escape side control, escape back mount, etc. AAAALLL that good stuff. Concentrate on that.

Concentrate on takedowns and how to move on after getting taken down. Since this is no gi, there is no use to trying to submit from standing, its going to be pretty much a ground game. I do agree with omega, spar every other day. If you do train more than 3 hours a day, separate it out by several hours.

Do not train the day before.

For cardio jump rope 3 mins once in the morning and then again later that day. That is what I did for my tourney and I didn't have any gas problems.
    Lift weights, get two 3 lbs and stretch your arms straight out to your sides like this