Ad Hominem rocks.

Posted On:
    6/11/2006 10:58pm

supporting member
     Style: BJJ, mma

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Osoto Gari setup

So how does everyone set this one up? I've always had trouble doing this when sparring decent ppl (although it works ok on random ppl and total newbs), so I'm wondering about different ways of setting it up.

I know that its really common for great Judo players to use it. We're a JJJ/BJJ school, and we don't train it actually all that much.

Posted On:
    6/11/2006 11:40pm

supporting member
     Style: BJJ - Homeland Security

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    We drilled a variation on Saturday where you pull the person forward so they step, then pull down on the side of their stepping foot and drive the other side up. This wheel-turning motion will load them onto the foot they stepped with and you can bring your body across and reap it.

Personally, I hate this throw because I never hit it and always want to turn it into a forward reap. That drill helped a lot though, so give it a shot.

Registered Member

Posted On:
    6/11/2006 11:56pm

Style: Jabs & Cross Kung Fu

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Quote Originally Posted by elipson
    So how does everyone set this one up? I've always had trouble doing this when sparring decent ppl (although it works ok on random ppl and total newbs), so I'm wondering about different ways of setting it up.

I know that its really common for great Judo players to use it. We're a JJJ/BJJ school, and we don't train it actually all that much.
    OK, I'll bite, from an academic point:

1) Kuzushi (off-balancing)
    Assuming you are going for your left sided OSOTO-GARI, you use your left hand to pull the uke downwards and the right hand to push him upwards. (Remember to torgue his body). The objective should be to make uke stand on his right toes (break his balance first)

2) Tsukuri (body positioning)