Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Registered Member

Posted On:
    5/21/2006 6:14pm

Style: Kali

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

How to Spot BJJ B.S?

Okay so here is my situation, I'm a orange belt in american/mixed/classic/whatever the hell you want to call it, Ju-Jitsu.
    We have class two nights a week for an hour because our instructor is a cop and he can't make it more than two days a week. I do an hour of MMA weekly or four hours if I can make it on saturday. (I also do Kali, but I digress)

Anyway, we have a new instructor coming, who I have yet to be informed the name of, and he is going to be teaching class tomorrow. He is from brazil and has his purple belt and will be instructing class as BJJ on monday. The owner of the school is hoping to bring him in as a regular instructor so that we can have class four nights a week.

As I have no formal experience with BJJ and Im not sure of the difference inherent in the fundamentals between standard and BJJ.
    My question is, and this goes out to the experienced BJJ'rs here, are there anyways of telling if this guy is bullshit out of the gate? Or in general?
    He is going to be instructing class here for a bit and perhaps he may gain a permanent position.
    Which is why I would like to know if anyone has any advice on how to spot obvious frauds or people who are just pretending in BJJ. As when it comes to BJJ I don't know my ass from my elbow, I really have no way of knowing whether he is a good instructor with actual merit, or if he is just going to snow the class and pretend to be showing us **** that is completely... well... ****.

Any advice, would be nice, once I get the name of him I will see if I can't get any info on his back ground.

Thanks in advance.

(I ran some searches and didn't get any results, but if this has already been asked then just kindly delete this and redirect me to where I need to go)

Titanium laced beauty

Posted On:
    5/21/2006 6:27pm

supporting memberforum leaderstaff