Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Posted On:
    5/01/2006 8:30pm

Bullshido Newbie
     Style: Handicapped Martial Arts

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Self defense from a wheelchair

I'd like to know if anyone is familiar with self defense training from a wheelchair?

Has anyone worked with an individual that was in a wheelchair?

I have recently been relagated to life with a wheelchair. I still have some good leg functions, though I have lost the use of my feet. I have a condition called foot-drop. I am a martial artist from years back, and have an excellent base knowledge of the fighting arts. I also admire and respect, the philosophies of the late, but great, Bruce Lee.

I am interested in developing a self defense method for people in a wheelchair or a walker, or a cane. I would very much be interested in anyone's ideas on how you would protect yourself if you were in a wheelchair with limited body control.

Are we talking weapons only? Or something else?

Please, all comments are welcome.

:car10: This was the only cool icon I could find. I was hoping to find a guy in a wheelchair flipping the bird. That would be cool.

Posted On:
    5/01/2006 8:44pm

supporting memberhall of fame
     Style: Judo

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    If you are in a wheelchair, it will be hard to generate power with punches and kicks. If an attacker dumped you, do you think that you could wrestle if you had to? It all depends on how much control you have and what you can do.

However I think the best defense would be handgun training and a conceal carry permit. That would be the most effective training you could do. If you are more of a pacifist then there are some good, but expensive, tasers on the market.
    Last edited by Olorin; 5/01/2006 8:47pm at .

Posted On:
    5/01/2006 9:00pm

Style: Sanda, BJJ

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    I'm no expert on weapons, but I second Olorin's proposal.

Light Heavyweight

Posted On:
    5/01/2006 9:04pm

supporting member
     Style: Bartitsu