Registered Member

Posted On:
    4/29/2006 10:26am

Style: TKD

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Yet Another TKD Experience

Background
    I had been studying TKD at a pretty non-traditional place for a few years. It was really more MMA at times then TKD. We sparred with various degrees of contact ranging from light to full depending on experience, we could grapple, we could trip, we could push, and we could throw. We studied the typical WTF forms as well as grappling and joint-locks under the guise of self-defense. Students were also encouraged to get experience in other styles, for example there was one guy who also studied WC Kung Fu, and another who also attended a near by MMA place. We also didn't spend anytime on point sparring because it was "unrealistic." The night classes were also adult only, which was nice.

Needless to say this place went out of business.

I then decided to join a gym, and noticed they also offered free TKD as part of the gym membership. I was of course skeptical, but I figured "what the hell, it might be good for a laugh."

Story
    The place was called the American Tae Kwon Do Academy, and had a mural of a odd looking cartoon panther wearing a dobok with a black belt on the wall of the studio. Their web site motto is "The best defense is self-defense," which matches well with their cartoon panther mascot.

I called the instructor before attending class and let him know my rank and where I studied. One of the first things he said to me was that I could test for black belt next month if I wanted to, which was fairly alarming.

At the first class the first thing I noticed was all of the students were adults (18-25), but they were all white and yellow belts with the exception of one green belt. I felt a little out of place being a red belt with a black tip.