Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Posted On:
    4/24/2006 3:24pm

Bullshido Newbie
     Style: Hapkido

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Your opinion please...

I'm a female martial artist with about 12 years of training experience. I've always enjoyed sparring. I love both the competitive aspect and that it provides a safe atmosphere to practice technique. I just joined a new school, though, and had the opportunity to spar with the instructors this weekend. I wasn't really happy with the way that went and thought I'd pick your brains for how to best handle it.

I was taught to used controlled contact, but have sparred with people who hit hard before. No big deal. Some people just hit a little harder than I would during class, but provided they aren't trying to hurt me, I can handle it. What I didn't appreciate was that the instructors seem to be coming after me with MUCH more tenacity and harder contact than they were using on their own students (who are same rank as me) I felt like one of them was trying to show off and could accidentally hurt me. The other was trying definitely to show off, but had less control over his kicks so if I didn't block the stuff thrown at my head he would have really hurt me if he connected.

I just don't get what that was all about. I spoke to my old instructor about it and he thinks the instructors at the new place mistakenly think I'm pushing around his students and are trying to teach me a lesson. He said he knows my personality type and that I'd never do that, but that I should speak with the instructor to clear the air. I NOT being overly agressive in sparring at this place. In fact, its been quite the opposite. I've used super light contact, pulled kicks and punches and anything I've thrown to the head was with control and thrown to miss! So why would they come after me like that?