Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Registered Member

Posted On:
    4/17/2006 9:52am

Style: mantis kung fu

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

the effectiveness of chow gar vs other styles

I've been practising chow gar for about two years now, and to me compared with other styles it is very effective. In fact almost invincible I think, although previously I had only done karate and was not very keen on it and so did not progress very far. Anytime i've sparred with people from other systems i have not had to use much energy and found that their moves are telegraphed like they work for the royal mail, although in saying that it could say something about the people i've been sparring with, all of these people have been practising for at least the same amount of time, if not longer than i've been training. So I would like to know if anybody has either fought using chow gar against other systems or if from another system and has fought with a practitioner of chow gar can you tell me your views please.

Posted On:
    4/17/2006 10:50am

supporting memberforum leader
     Style: Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Quote Originally Posted by ironmantis
    I've been practising chow gar for about two years now, and to me compared with other styles it is very effective. In fact almost invincible I think, although previously I had only done karate and was not very keen on it and so did not progress very far. Anytime i've sparred with people from other systems i have not had to use much energy and found that their moves are telegraphed like they work for the royal mail, although in saying that it could say something about the people i've been sparring with, all of these people have been practising for at least the same amount of time, if not longer than i've been training. So I would like to know if anybody has either fought using chow gar against other systems or if from another system and has fought with a practitioner of chow gar can you tell me your views please.