Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Registered Member

Posted On:
    8/20/2002 1:32am

Style: BJJ

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Hello all - this is my first post. Need some advice.

I'm an incoming freshman at my college, and am thinking about joining their aikikai club. Aikikai is basically the original aikido style as promulgated by Ueshiba. There are more aggressive modern styles out there, but this is all that is offered in my area (in terms of aikido) so I will probably attend a few classes and try it.

I've been exchanging emails with the secretary of the club. He's Japanese (maybe an int'l student?)- and his English is sort of hard to understand, but I've made out a few things. The instructor trained at "US West Aikikai" for 12 years. Guess that means out in California or something? Also, he seems real confident about the practicality of aikido.

Can anyone testify to this? I would especially any aikidoka out there to post, and anyone who has trained/sparred/fought with aikidoka.

I know I need to take classes and see for myself, and talk with the instructor/students and all that..but I just wanted some preliminary information if anyone has any.

Thanks.

Co-Founder, Retired Admin

Posted On:
    8/20/2002 2:36am

supporting member
     Style: BJJ, Karate,

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Whats up man? One of my best friends trained in Aikido for 16 years. He stopped because of a spinal injury he rcvd on his job. He said it was a very enjoyable practice. He had alot of fun with it.

I really wouldnt suggest it for PRACTICAL use. And neither would he. But try it and see what you think. Just remember that not every instructors word is gold. Look at what youre taught honestly. Alot of things that are taught in the martial arts will never work the way we are TOLD they will work. If you just use your head a little from the start you'll be able to pick these techniques out pretty easily.