Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Registered Member

Posted On:
    3/01/2006 2:36pm

Style: Intergalactic

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

In and out of TMA . . . maybe out for good now

I used to box when I was in high school. The training was fun and very hands on with lots of sparring time and hard workouts. When I was in university, I started studying Tracy's Kenpo mixed with some shoot fighting and kick boxing. As I progressed in the system, I noticed that whenever I'd spar, it would essentially turn into a kickboxing match bearing no real resemblance to kenpo.

I've only ever been in one street fight, and I all I did was assume a boxing stance and throw punches, knees, and elbows to make space and get the hell out of there. All that fancy **** just fell be the wayside. I find some of the defensive movements like moving offline of attacks and closing distance taught in kenpo useful, but I was taught that in boxing too.

In any case, I went back to boxing, but then the gym closed down because of toxic mould or some **** and I decided to give kenpo another try to see if it'd get any better as I progressed through the system. Sparring is difficult right now given that very few guys at the club know how to actually fight and i'm getting majorly frustrated with everything. Some things we're taught work on a resisting opponent, but a lot of it is pretty useless.

I found a club locally that seems like a good spot that teaches BJJ and Muay Thai and has apparently produced a few pretty good fighters. The other cool thing is that there's something going on there every night. There's also a few good Judo clubs around, but I want to develop my striking because it's familiar to me AND learn some more grappling game at the same time. I'm not looking to fight in tournaments - I just want to stay in good shape and improve as a fighter because god knows it's a good skill to have.

Anybody here care to share some thoughts or have a similar story?

Posted On:
    3/01/2006 2:47pm