Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Registered Member

Posted On:
    1/20/2006 7:38pm

Style: BJJ

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

The mythos of 'Black belt techniques'

I'm sure at one time or another all the experienced BJJers on this board have either heard or used the term 'black belt techniques' at one time or another. Hell, when I started learning under a black belt as a lowly white belt, and understood maybe one in five of the techniques he was trying to teach the class, I could buy into it.

Then about nine months later, shortly before I received my blue belt, I finally got my first roll with a fabled black belt. I got tapped repeatedly with basic techniques. None of the fabled, intricate 'black belt techniques' were in evidence. Everything he did to me, I knew of. All of his setups, he had taught to the class at one time or another.

However what differentiated my knowledge of the techniques from my instructor's was:
    - the sheer level of control he had over his movements and weight distribution which dwarfed mine
    - twelve more years of training and experience of exactly what an opponent can do
    - a game that he had made purely his own

And he was holding back. I only found out just how much he did and still does hold back when I watched one of his professional BJJ matches in the Koral Desafio Brazil vs. Japan 2 event, which had been fought at a time when he was recovering from a nasty muscle tear.

Fast forward two years, after a year where I spent four months overseas, training for about three of those, in Brazil and the U.S. I've had the opportunity and privilege to roll with a number of black belts, each with distinctly different games and styles.