228854 Bullies, 4870 online  
  • Register
Our Sponsors:

Page 1 of 26 1 234511 ... LastLast
Sponsored Links Spacer Image

I'd like to leave this world like I came into it: Screaming, naked & covered in someone else's blood

Posted On:
    12/30/2005 11:38am

supporting member
     Style: Muay Thai (BJJ hiatus)

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Time to throw in the Kung Fu towel

First let me introduce myself. I have been lurking on your site for quite a few months now. Checking out the humorous video clips and pics and even venturing into the forums when I had the time. I have studied Martial Arts in one form or another for most of my life. Starting, like most people with Judo and Karate. I gave up training in my teens and discovered Beer and Women, either of which being unhealthy enough on it's own! I then took up Wing Chun a few years back and switched to Praying Mantis with the same instructor two years later. I've been studying Mantis for about 4-5 years now and am fairly proficient at it and have attained assistant instructor level. However, about two years back I started becoming dis-illusioned with Kung fu and didn't feel that I was progressing as much as I should be. Because the Mantis system is so vast; 83 forms including 12 weapons and Chi Kung, I never practiced any one particular thing to notice progress. My kicking and flexibility was especially bad and so I decided to take up a bit of part-time Muay Thai to solve this little problem. Two years later and I'm looking at having my first fight lined up. Every day I get more and more doubtful of the effectivness of my Kung Fu. I see more and more MMA fights (especially early UFC matches) and see time and again that Kung Fu just doesn't seem to hold up against any of the grappling arts.