Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Registered Member

Posted On:
    11/30/2005 9:38pm

Style: mma

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

New Students

I've been training with a guy who competes in MMA and I have been enjoying the hell out of it. The only thing that bothers me is that whenever we bring in new guys, they seem to disappear after a very short time. I am wondering if we are doing something wrong. We spend about half of every session sparring and I have wondered if we may need to explicitly address the "leaving your ego out of it" issue with them and/or ease them into sparring more gradually. Or maybe there just aren't many people who really like to train hard. I don't know. Any advice?

Registered Member

Posted On:
    11/30/2005 10:22pm

Style: TKD; BJJ

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Are you taking total noobies and making them spar full-contact on the first day? That might be a bit much.

Registered Member

Posted On:
    12/01/2005 5:15am

Style: Getting mounted

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Keep in mind that non-Bullshido martial arts generally have high attrition rates because prospective students realize that they're not going to be learning ninja death touches. The process of becoming skilled in a fighting system takes lots of time and effort. To learn to kick ass, you need to get your ass kicked for a while, and I think that's just a reality that most people aren't willing to face. I bet most of the students who vanish from your class thought that they would be Kazushi Sakuraba by the third class.

Unless it's an issue of paying the bills, I'd write the quitters off as what they are.

Registered Member

Posted On:
    12/01/2005 8:15am

Style: Tang Soo Do

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    After the guillotine chokes I got nailed with Tuesday, I could understand folks quiting. The damage I take and lack of skill are really humbling.