Featherweight

Posted On:
    10/28/2005 10:00am

supporting member
     Style: Goju, mixed

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

My experience with Shaolin Goju

Although I have been around this site for quite a while, Iím not an avid poster (as seen by the low post count). Iíve been doing a lot of self-analysis lately (old age or something) and have started thinking about my martial art, Shaolin Goju.

The only thing I can tell you about Shaolin Goju is what was past down to me by my instructor, Alonzo Wilson (9th degree), and of course, what I experienced while in the school. The system of Shinjimasu International was founded by Grandmaster Charles Dixon.

I started studying Shaolin Goju in 1995, while in the Marines, at Camp Pendleton, CA. My best friend and I had talked a lot about starting martial arts, and we finally decided to after visiting a few schools.

Let me start by spouting off some facts about the school:

There was only one instructor when I first started, Alonzo Wilson. He was a Navy guy with about 30 years of martial arts experience. His most experienced style was Shotokan Karate.

The class was taught 4 times per week (and later nearly every night for the advanced students). It was taught at a local community fitness center. The cost was $20/Month for kids, $30/Month for adults. No contracts and the instructor really didnít put any pressure at all on paying the fees. There were two classes. 5:30 - 6:30 was kids. 6:45 Ė 8:30 was adults. Weekends were 10:00 Ė 12:00.

On the first day my friend and I went to the school the instructor was showing us different comboís etc. By the end of the class, he had us sparring. The adults made a circle, and we fought everyone in the class for about 30 seconds. Afterwards I was completely exhausted and totally excited at the same time.

Alright, so what was taught: