Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Registered Member

Posted On:
    10/14/2005 12:22am

Style: wu tang

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

lifting and training bjj

I'm just curious how many days a week people that lift weights and train bjj do each? I have been doing lifting for several years and just started bjj. I noticed that my strength and energy while lifting have gone way down, but I expected that.

OOOOOOOOOOAAARRGGHH RLY?

Posted On:
    10/14/2005 12:49am

supporting member
     Style: In Transition

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    What's your schedule look like?

PL

Middleweight

Posted On:
    10/14/2005 1:07am

supporting member

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    I do 2-3 days of BJJ a week (although not since uni started up again) and find it hard to lift more than once a week without cutting short my strength significantly in one or the other, but I'm sure other guys handle it much better than I have. My compensation for the reduced lifting and rolling is lots of rest and going hard as possible in both lifting and BJJ.

In short, I am in the same conumdrum as yourself.

Lightweight

Posted On:
    10/14/2005 6:45am

supporting member
     Style: Crazy Monkey, BJJ, MT

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    I havn't lifted since highschool (and even then I was pretty half assed, thoughtless about it). But recently I started again, because I really think my overall strength needs improving, and I find that it has taken it's toll on my rolling. I think this has to do with the fact that BJJ is almost like resistance training in itself, that the body never really has enough time to recover. I have found that making sure I drink a shake with whey/complex & simple carsbs within half an hour of finishing lifting or BJJ has helped alot. Other than that, I'm in the same boat brother.

Posted On:
    10/14/2005 6:55am

Join us... or die
     Style: Shi Ja Quan

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    You have to give your body time to recover, or your ST will suffer.