Registered Member

Posted On:
    10/11/2005 12:58am

Style: N/A

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Want to start Muay Thai, help needed

Hey guys,

First time posting, and I haven't been on these forums for long. I'm a COMPLETE newbie here, so bear with me...

Basically, I want to take Muay Thai. I want to start in January. I go to school in Waterloo, ON, Canada, and I'm studying right now. In January, I'll be on a work-term, and hopefully in Waterloo again, so I'll have time to start Muay Thai.

That said, few key issues:

1. Right now, I'm insanely busy with school. Like, I should go to bed right now, and wake up early. I'm going to after I post this.
    2. I need to wake up early to start working out again. I did over the summer, and it did wonders for my body. But I still have lots to go because...
    3. I'm 5'10, 200 lbs (I haven't weighed in since July though). So I'm about 20 lbs overweight. I think in May, I was 205 lbs, but there's a SIGNIFICANT difference in my body composition now. Still a lot to go however.
    4. I've never done any martial arts, save karate for 3 weeks when I was in grade 5. My interest in Muay Thai is simply because I've wanted to do boxing, and muay thai seemed at least a bit more functional. It also seems to be PURELY strength training, which would be awesome for my body.

Basically, I need to know what I can do prior to starting in January. My diet has been pretty shite lately because of school, but I eat healthy overall, especially since this past summer. I don't think I've put any weight back on. I need to do cardio, so I'm planning on running. But it's always been planning, and not any doing. I'll work on that tho. ;-) Should I hit the weights again? Stuff that fits into a busy 10+ hour day would be awesome.