223987 Bullies, 3916 online  
  • Register
Our Sponsors:

Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Destroyer of Worlds

Ubon Ratchathani, Thailand (orig from Melb, Aust)

Posted On:
    10/03/2005 5:49am

supporting member
     Style: Muay Thai

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Muscle/fat/diet etc question

Okay so the deal is, since I started training (just over a month ago) I seem to be hungry ALL THE TIME, even more than I used to be. I feel like I need to eat every couple of hours. I'm not eating anything "unhealthy", but I want to know if I should just go with it and keep eating lots because I am training and eventually all the fat will go away, or whether the fact that I still have some fat around my hips/stomach/thighs means I should try to eat a little less than what I feel I need to.

Hope this question isn't too stupid!

Light Heavyweight

Posted On:
    10/03/2005 10:55am

supporting memberBullshido Newbie
     Style: Wu Style TCC + BJJ

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Read up on nutrition to find out what your body needs -- before, during and after workouts. You're hungry for a reason, and as long as you're eating appropriately for someone who wants to gain muscle mass, you'll probably be fine.

Bullshido Wikipedia Delegate

Posted On:
    10/03/2005 11:28am

supporting memberhall of fameBullshido Newbie
     Style: Krav / (Kick)Boxing / BJJ

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    I eat 5 times a day.

Sometimes the meal is meat with starch and veggies (like a steak with pasta and spinach for lunch), or it's more like a snack (Cottage cheese w/fruit, or yogurt with an instant soup).

Rule of thumb is if you're lifting, proteins before and carbs after you lift, with a little of each included. So after lifting, you want 2:1 or 4:1 carbs (preferably high-glycemic), and before lifting, more protein than carbs.