Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Registered Member

Posted On:
    8/09/2005 10:56am

Style: Chito-Ryu Karate

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Douvris Martial Arts and Fitness Centers - McDojo(s) in Ottawa, Canada

For my first post on your fantastic site, I'd like to share my experience with DOUVRIS MARTIAL ARTS in OTTAWA. Douvris is dedicated to the "sport karate" scene, and ripping people off.

I started training at a Douvris club when I was 13, not knowing anything about karate at the time. My parents signed me up, and I started training about 3 times per week. After a year I became a "black belt member", which meant I didnt have to pay grading fees, as it was sold as a "lifetime membership". The **** started to hit the fan when more advanced members got their black belts, had to pay fees again, and were *expected* to teach classes.

I progressed through the ranks, and by the time I was 17, I had attained a brown belt. I was active on what is known as athe Ottawa "sport karate" tournament scene. I wanted to know, where the tryouts were for the national team, or provincial team. My sensei at the time said you had to be invited, and that it was up to John Douvris to decide if you were ready. They told me the WKA karate scene was *the *****, and that I wasnt ready. (The truth is that you have to qualify through 4 full contact provincial tournaments to get to the NKA Canada's national chamopionship...Douvris doesnt even acknoledge these tournaments exist!).

In the mean time, I started to ask the tough questions: why are there no Japanese people here if we are studying a Japanese art? Why do we have no affiliation with a major karate style? Why do your karate athletes get no sponsorship from the government? Needless to say, they stated to get pissed off with me, and called me a "traitor" to the club.